Click Here for Web Version  |  Issue #160 Oct 24, 2016
Facebook icon   Twitter icon  

AACC Business Seminar on The New Federal Wage and Hour Regulations

The Anderson Area Chamber of Commerce will host an informative seminar on the impending federal wage and hour regulations law on Thursday, November 10, from 3:00 -5:00 p.m. at Anderson Center. The new regulations are scheduled to take effect on December 1, 2016. Jeff Shoskin, a long-time Anderson Township resident and partner with Frost Brown Todd, will review the new regulations and how they will impact your business.

The Labor Department estimates an additional 4.2 million executive, administrative and professional workers who earn above the old threshold, but below the new one will be entitled to time-and-a-half wages for each hour they work beyond 40 a week.

For example, many employers pay some of their employees a salary. Currently, if those salaried employees meet the “primary duties” exemption tests (not an easy exercise) and receive an annual salary of at least $23,660 ($455 per week), then they are exempt from the Department of Labor’s minimum wage and overtime requirements.

Starting December 1, the minimum annual salary level increases to $47,476 ($913 per week) – more than double the current amount. Accordingly, if an employer currently is paying less than $47,476, then it must: a) increase the otherwise exempt employee’s salary to that higher level; or b) reclassify the employee to non-exempt status and pay overtime for all hours worked over 40 in a workweek.

Have you developed a game plan to address this seismic change in the way you pay your employees? The clock is ticking. If you have questions about these new regulations, please take the time to attend seminar. The seminar is free for all chamber members and $5 per person for non-chamber members.

You must register for this event through the Anderson Area Chamber of Commerce office, 474-4802.

Issue 30 is Anderson Township's Public Safety levy that will be on the November 8th ballot. This 3.55 mill levy will support Anderson's fire and rescue and law enforcement services. The last public safety levy was passed in 2008. Click here for more information...

American Legion Post 318 hosts Flag Retirement Ceremonies

October 26th and November 2nd, 2016 – “Anderson Township U.S. Official USA FLAG RETIREMENTS at the local American Legion Post 318 at 6660 Clough Pike will take place on November 7th, Monday, in the parking lot of the Post. It starts at 7 pm and should be over in 30 to 45 minutes. You will get to see the proper way to retire an old US flag. All Anderson residents are invited to attend and participate, or just come and drop off any old or torn flags. The Boy Scouts of American are one of the few organizations authorized by US Congress to retire US flags. The BSA Troop 519/Crew 519/Cub Scout Pack 405 are charted to the American Legion Post 318 and will be performing the ceremony.

Deer-breeding season means more deer on the move

During the fall, motorists are reminded to watch for deer along roadways. Most deer-vehicle collision occur between October and December, during the deer-breeding season. This is when juvenile animals are dispersing from their home ranges. In Anderson Township, 22 of the 52 reported deer strike accidents reported in the last year occurred during October and November.

According to data from the Ohio Department of Public Safety and Ohio Department of Natural Resources, peak hours for these collisions are the hours prior to dawn and dusk (typically 6am-7am and 6pm-7pm).

Motorists are advised to slow down and exercise caution to reduce the likelihood of encounters with deer along roadways, and to be aware of warning signs signaling deer are in the area. When you see one deer cross the road, look for a second or third deer to follow, as deer typically travel in family groups.

Click here for more information from the all new Anderson Township official web site...
Weekly news produced and distributed by Gregory M. Harshfield, Around Anderson Township ©2015

Anderson Area Chamber of Commerce Anderson Township Government
Anderson Township Parks Forest Hills School District